2015 Matsumoto Prize Honors Six Exemplary Modernist Houses

NC Modernist Houses
Jury Awards First Prize winner: the Aiyyer House by CUBE design + research

North Carolina Modernist Houses announced the six winners – three Jury awards and three People’s Choice awards — for the 2015 George Matsumoto Prize for Modernist residential design during a special event at McConnell Studios in downtown Raleigh.

Houses submitted to the annual competition must be in North Carolina but designers may be based anywhere. A panel of distinguished architects including Jeanne Gang and Peter Gluck chose the Jury Award winners. The 2015 Prize was underwritten by Leland Little Auctions.

NCMH Founder and Director George Smart announced this year’s results.

The 2015 Jury winners are:

First Prize ($3000) — CUBE design + research, Chapel Hill, for the Aiyyer Residence in Carrboro, NC.  Photo at left by Richard Leo Johnson

Second Prize ($2000) – Tonic Design + Tonic Construction, Raleigh, for “Crabill Modern” in Hillsborough, NC.  Photo courtesy Tonic Desig

Third Prize ($1000) – in situ studio, Raleigh, for “Clark Court” in Raleigh. Photo by Richard Leo Johnson

Online public voting determined the three People’s Choice winners. With nearly 2000 votes cast, the 2015 People’ Choice winners are:

First Place: Kersting Architecture, Wilmington, NC, for “Waterline” beach house in Wrightsville Beach, NC. Photo by Rick Ricozzi

Second Place: Roost Homes, Asheville, for Peregrine #5 in Lakeview Park in Asheville, NC. Photo by Olivia Marone

Third Place: Ann Clark Architects, Chicago, for the Knight Howard House in Deep Run, NC. Photo by Stacey Van Berkel

The Matsumoto Prize honors George Matsumoto, FAIA, a founding faculty member at the North Carolina State University School of Design (now College of Design) who is well known for the exemplary mid-century Modernist houses he designed across the state. Matsumoto also served as Honorary Chair of the professional jury.

Sponsors of the award night included Palette and ParlorMitchell Restoration, and Paolo Tomasi Sales.

For more information on the Matsumoto Prize, the jury, and this year’s award winners as well as all the submissions, visit http://www.ncmodernist.org/prize2015.

North Carolina Modernist Houses

About North Carolina Modernist Houses: 

North Carolina Modernist Houses (NCMH) is an award-winning, 501C3 nonprofit organization established in 2007 and dedicated to documenting, preserving, and promoting Modernist residential design. The website is now the largest open digital archive for Modernist residential design in America. NCMH also hosts popular architecture events every month and frequent home tours, giving the public access to the most exciting residential architecture, past and present. These tours and events raise awareness and help preserve these “livable works of art” for future generations. For more information: www.ncmodernist.org.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s